Pasquotank County Board of Commissioners

Pasquotank County is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners, elected at-large and from districts in county-wide elections to serve four-year staggered terms. Four members must reside in specified districts, and three members are elected at-large. The Board elects a Chairman and Vice-Chairman at its December meeting.

The Board of Commissioners’ primary duties include:

  • adopting an annual budget;

  • establishing the annual property tax rate;

  • setting policies, goals, and objectives to direct the County’s growth and development;

  • adopting and providing for ordinances, regulations, and rules for the general welfare of County citizens;

  • entering into written contractual or legal obligations on behalf of the County;

  • appointing citizens to advisory boards and committees;

  • and carrying out other responsibilities as set forth by North Carolina General Statutes.

The Board of Commissioners meets on the first and third Mondays of each month at 6:00 p.m., unless the meeting schedule is changed due to holidays or other reasons.

The meetings are typically held in Courtroom C located on the 2nd floor of the Pasquotank County Courthouse.

Regular Board meetings are open to the public.